Wage Hour and Overtime
No matter what type of industry you work in, you deserve fair compensation for your time on the job. To help protect this right, California has very strict laws about how employees receive payment for any regular and overtime hours they work. Whenever employers don’t follow these regulations, employees are eligible to recover their lost wages through legal action.
Why Choose Us as Your Lawyer
When it comes to protecting your rights as an employee, the attorneys of Rafii & Nazarian, LLP, are ready to support you. From your initial consultation all the way to the resolution of your case, you can count on us for:
- Ongoing updates and open communication about your case from your attorney.
- Over 75 years of combined experience as a firm in wage-hour and overtime employment laws.
- 24/7 availability, so that you can contact us whenever your case necessitates it.
For attorneys who will represent your best interests, contact us for a free consultation.
Why Do You Need a Lawyer?
While California has clear regulations on how employees must receive payment for their work, understanding which laws apply to your case and how to present them in court can be a challenge if you have no previous legal experience. Working with an attorney will not only ensure that you have all the relevant information to protect your rights and recover fair compensation, but it can also help you stand on even ground against your employer throughout the claims process.
Different statutes of limitations apply to the various types of wage and overtime errors. Your attorney can help you file your claim within the appropriate time so that you don’t lose your right to recovering compensation.
Wage and Overtime Laws in California
Depending on the number of employees, all California employers must pay their employees a minimum of $10.50 or $11 per hour as of 2018, with increasing wages over the next several years. If employees work overtime by performing work for more than eight hours a day or more than 40 hours within a week, they must receive one and one-half times their regular rate of pay. For hours worked more than 12 in a single day or hours over eight on the seventh consecutive day of work, employees must receive double their rate of regular pay.
Aside from some exceptions to these laws, all employers must follow these guidelines when paying employees for hours worked. Any violation of these regulations serves as grounds for a wage-hour and overtime claim by the affected employees.
Filing a Wage Claim in California
To file a wage claim, you will need to provide the labor commissioner’s office with all the relevant information for your case. This includes:
- Information on your employer.
- Any potentially responsible parties for the wage theft, such as a supervisor adjusting your hours or pay rate.
- A personal record of all hours worked.
- All pay stubs provided by your employer.
While your employer will have a record of your hours worked, keeping your own record can serve as evidence if your wage theft is occurring by changing your hours while processing payroll.
What Damages Can I Recover?
The primary concern in wage-hour and overtime cases is missing payments, most of your recoverable damages will be for lost wages. In some cases, adjustment of your payments can impact your benefits. You will also be able to recover compensation for any lost benefits incurred by improper wage and overtime payments. If the court decides it is necessary, you may even receive punitive damages for your claim.
Contact Your California Wage-Hour and Overtime Attorneys
When an employer violates your right to fair pay for regular and overtime hours, you need the help of the experienced employment law attorneys of Rafii & Nazarian, LLP. We’ve protected the rights of our clients, recovering more than $100 million in settlements and offers. Reach out to us so that we can do the same for you.